Press Releases ● Jul 22, 2018

Albirex Niigata FC (S) Crowned 2018 Singapore Premier League Champions


SINGAPORE, 22 JULY 2018: Albirex Niigata FC (S) sealed the 2018 Great Eastern-Hyundai Singapore Premier League (SPL) title on Sunday night after a 1-1 draw with Balestier Khalsa FC.


Kenya Takahashi scored as Albirex won the title for a third consecutive time, becoming only the third side to do so in the league’s 23-year history after Warriors FC and Tampines Rovers FC.


Heading into the match at Toa Payoh Stadium, the White Swans knew that a point would be enough for them to retain the title with six games to spare. Kazuaki Yoshinaga’s side had won all 17 of their previous league matches this season, but Balestier dug in and became the first side to take points off the Japanese side.


Albirex Head Coach Yoshinaga said: “We are happy to clinch the title. This is our club’s 15th anniversary and all these 15 years have been spent building up our foundation for what we are achieving right now. There was a lot of hard work put in all these years so we hope we can push on further after clinching this title.


“I have good support from the club’s staffs, the players have worked very hard and the fans they have always been there cheering us all the way to the victory. So from my heart, thank you and congratulate to everyone in the Albirex family.”


The Football Association of Singapore congratulates Albirex for winning the SPL title this year.