Domestic Competitions ● Oct 29, 2017

Albirex Niigata FC (S) Crowned RHB Singapore Cup 2016 Champions


SINGAPORE, 29 OCTOBER 2016: Albirex Niigata FC (S) were crowned champions of the RHB Singapore Cup Final tonight, after defeating Tampines Rovers FC 2-0 at Jalan Besar Stadium in front of 4928 fans. Atsushi Kawata opened the scoring in the 28th minute, before Kento Nagasaki secured the result with Albirex‚Äôs second goal in the 87th minute.

This is the White Swans’ second consecutive RHB Singapore Cup win, and the result also means that they have completed the domestic quadruple, having already won the Great Eastern Community Shield, The New Paper League Cup and the Great Eastern-Yeo’s S.League Championship.

Earlier in the evening, Ceres La Salle FC came from behind to edge Balestier Khalsa FC 2-1 in the 3rd Place match. Niko Tokic scored an early goal for the Tigers, before Ceres came back strongly in the second half to score through Manuel Ott and Stephan Schrock.

Other Singapore football champions were also recognised, with FAS Vice-President Lim Kia Tong presenting Eunos Crescent FC with the National Football League trophy at half-time. S.League Director of Operations Kok Wai Leong also presented prizes to Women’s Premier League champions Warriors FC before kick-off, as well as to the winners of the various Centre of Excellence Leagues.

The various winners were not the only ones to return home with prizes tonight, as a lucky draw was conducted after the match. Eight lucky fans won attractive prizes such as the latest iPhone 7, iPad Pro and Beats earphones.

S.League CEO Lim Chin was heartened by the good turnout and commended the two teams for their strong performance.

He said: “Congratulations to Albirex Niigata FC (S) for winning the RHB Singapore Cup and achieving the clean sweep of all four titles this season. The club has performed very well both on and off the pitch and are deservedly champions this season.”

The results are as follows:


Albirex Niigata FC (S) [2]

(Atsushi Kawata 28′, Kento Nagasaki 87′)

Tampines Rovers FC [0]


3rd Place Match

Balestier Khalsa FC (S) [1]

(Niko Tokic 4′)

Ceres La Salle FC (S) [2]

(Manuel Ott 64′, Stephan Schrock 69′)