Women’s Premier League ● May 26, 2022

Club Guide: 2022 Deloitte Women’s Premier League



SINGAPORE, 26 MAY 2022 – The 2022 Deloitte Women’s Premier League (WPL) season commences this weekend! To get you ready, we take a look at the seven clubs that are participating in the 21st season of the domestic top-flight women’s game.




Seasons: 1

Nickname: White Swans

Training Ground: Jurong East Stadium

Highest finish: N.A.

Head Coach: Nahar Daud

Captain: Tina Afrida Nasmi

Social media: Instagram | Twitter

Foreign players: Marilou Bautista Rubio

Players to look out for: Tina Afrida Nasmi, Nadhra Aqilah, Irsalina Irwan


Despite making their debut in the WPL, the White Swans are eyeing the top prize with veteran Tina Afrida, who has competed in the league since its establishment in August 2000, leading the way. With guidance from former international forward Nahar Daud, Albirex have a good blend experience and youth for their maiden campaign.




Seasons: 1

Nickname: Tigresses

Training Ground: Toa Payoh Stadium

Highest finish: N.A.

Head Coach: Ratna Suffian

Captain: Mastura Jeilani

Social media: Facebook | Instagram

Foreign players: None

Players to look out for: Mastura Jeilani, Siti Nurerwadah Erwan, Nur Azureen Rahman

Under former S.League player and Singapore international Ratna Suffian, the Tigresses are eager to roar in the Women’s Premier League. With bulk of the players transferred from Simei United FC, who finished third in the 2019 season, most of the Balestier squad will not be strangers to the competition.




Seasons: 1

Nickname: Cheetahs

Training Ground: Hougang Stadium

Highest finish: N.A.

Head Coach: Sivaraj Geevananthan

Captain: Ho Wen Jin

Social media: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | TikTok

Foreign players: Michelle Lim Jia Yi, Agatha Putri Widjaya, Tran Thi Thai Khue

Players to look out for: Ho Wen Jin, Foo Shini, Dhaniyah Qasimah Zamri Abdullah


Hougang United are also making their debut in the Women’s Premier League, with head coach Sivaraj Geevananthan at the helm. Coach Siva has been a stalwart in the women’s football scene, having led teams at the varsity and club level for over a decade. The Cheetahs have banded together with players from Middle Rangers FC and added fresh players from the National University of Singapore with a key focus on development and the top WPL prize.




Seasons: 1

Nickname: Sailors

Training Ground: Mattar Road

Highest finish: N.A.

Head Coach: Yeong Sheau Shyan

Captain: Ernie Sulastri Sontaril

Social media: Website | Instagram | TikTok

Foreign players: Madison Josephine Telmer, Miray Hokotate Altun, Julia-Vanessa Farr

Players to look out for: Julia-Vanessa Farr, Venetia Lim Ying Xuan, Nur Syazwani Ruzi


Like the men’s Singapore Premier League team, the Sailors have the advantage of experienced players in their mix – more than half of their squad hail from the Singapore Women’s National Team. On top of that, they are helmed by former Lioness Yeong Sheau Shyan, who is attaining her AFC Pro Diploma license.





Seasons: 13 (Previously known as Arion Football Academy)

Nickname: –

Training Ground: Bukit Gombak Stadium

Highest finish: 2nd (2008, 2016)

Head Coach: Hyrizan Jufri

Captain: Stephanie Gigette Dominguez

Social media: Facebook | Instagram

Foreign players: Malavika Hemanth, Larissa Anne Ortman

Players to look out for: Stephanie Gigette Dominguez, Nur Farhanah Ruhaizat, Nur Afiqah Omar


Still Aerion Women’s is the longest women-only club in Singapore and have played in the WPL for 12 seasons since 2006. With a healthy mix of young and older players under ActiveSG Football Academy coach Hyrizan Jufri, the team is gunning for the title after falling short twice in 2008 and 2016.




Seasons: 3

Nickname: Jaguars

Training Ground: Queenstown Stadium

Highest finish: 1st (2012)

Head Coach: Samawira Basri

Captain: Nuriah Mohamed Noor

Social media: Facebook | Instagram

Foreign players: Yuki Monden, Manami Fukuzawa, Lim Ira Maon, Imai Nagomi

Players to look out for: Yuki Monden, Manami Fukazawa, Nurul Haziqah


Having won the WPL in 2012, the Jaguars are on the hunt to claim the title once more this season, under the guidance of former Lion and 2019 WPL Coach of the Year Samawira Basri. Tanjong Pagar is also the only club to have used their maximum quota of four foreign player signings, with the Japanese trio having been part of their 2019 Women’s Challenge Cup title win.




Seasons: 2

Nickname: N.A.

Training Ground: Woodlands Stadium (Wednesday), St Wilfred (Sunday)

Highest finish: 6th

Head Coach: Lawrence Lee

Captain: Rochelle Chan

Social media: Facebook | Instagram

Foreign players: Riddle Reneelyn Sison

Players to look out for: Raudhah Kamis, Riddle Reneelyn Sison, Wang Zhen Zhu


Tiong Bahru have returned to the WPL after their last appearance in 2007. They hope to better their finish of sixth place under the wisdom of Head Coach Lawrence Lee, who is known for his winning reign at the ‘A’ Division level with Victoria Junior College. Tiong Bahru have registered a full squad of 25 players with former Lionesses Angelyn Pang, Siti Wan Nabilah, Deborah Chin, Wang Zhen Zhu and Rochelle Chan in the camp to add to the team’s depth.


Follow us on the Deloitte Women’s Premier League Facebook page!


Image credit: Unleash The Roar