Domestic Competitions ● Nov 07, 2022

FAS Awards Night back in full swing with 2022 edition


Annual ceremony to be held physically for first time since 2019 and honour the best of the SPL, WPL, SFL and more



SINGAPORE, 7 NOVEMBER 2022 – The very best of the 2022 domestic season will be honoured at the Football Association of Singapore (FAS) Awards Night 2022 later this month.


An annual event that brings the local football fraternity together, this year’s ceremony will be the first in-person edition since 2019, having had to be scaled down over the past two years due to pandemic restrictions. The Awards Night 2022 will take place on Tuesday, 8 November at 7pm at Orchard Hotel.


Outstanding individuals from the 27th season of the AIA Singapore Premier League (SPL) will be recognised across seven categories. With the return of all the other domestic competitions that had been lain low by the pandemic this year, it means that there will also be accolades on offer for the Deloitte Women’s Premier League (WPL) and the Singapore Football Leagues (SFL) 1 and 2.


Having fired in 33 goals to help Albirex Niigata FC (S) win the SPL title, Japanese forward Kodai Tanaka has earned a double nomination in both the AIA Player of the Year and AIA Young Player of the Year categories. Tampines Rovers FC star Boris Kopitović – winner of the SPL Top Scorer prize with an incredible 35 goals in 28 matches – and Lion City Sailors FC’s mercurial winger Maxime Lestienne are the other two in contention for the Player of the Year gong, while Tanaka will face competition from team-mate Ilhan Fandi and Balestier Khalsa FC attacker Ryoya Taniguchi for the Young Player of the Year prize.


After winning his third league title in as many seasons, Kazuaki Yoshinaga is a strong contender to win his third POLAR Mineral Water Coach of the Year accolade, though former Singapore internationals Mohd Noor Ali and Hasrin Jailani will run him close after their good work this season with Geylang International FC and Tanjong Pagar United FC respectively.


Over in the Deloitte WPL, Lion City Sailors’ Izzati Rosni has picked up nominations in both the Deloitte Player of the Year and Goal of the Year categories. The WPL Top Scorer, who scored 10 goals in her side’s triumphant maiden campaign, will jostle with Tanjong Pagar United FC duo Haziqah Haszman and Manami Fukuzawa for the big prize. Goalkeeper Haziqah has also bagged a double nomination and is up for the Young Player of the Year award with Lion City Sailors midfielder Dorcas Chu and Hougang United FC starlet Dhaniyah Qasimah. Yeong Sheau Shyan, who led the Lion City Sailors to an unbeaten campaign, will fancy her chances at being named Coach of the Year ahead of Nahar Daud  and Samawira Basri from Albirex Niigata (S) and Tanjong Pagar United respectively.


The final nominees and eventual winners for all the SPL awards were selected by a judging panel comprising the current Head Coaches and Team Captains from the eight SPL clubs participating in the 2022 season, as well as current SPL pundit Rhysh Roshan Rai and four representatives from separate media outlets.


With over 500 guests expected to be in attendance, including representatives from all the teams as well as the FAS’ stakeholders, this year’s FAS Awards Night is all set to return in full swing and go down as a memorable night.


The list of nominees for the main awards can be found below.


List of main award nominees and recipients for FAS Awards Night 2022


AIA Singapore Premier League
Award Nominee Club/Organisation
AIA Player of the Year Kodai Tanaka Albirex Niigata FC (S)
Maxime Lestienne Lion City Sailors FC
Boris Kopitović Tampines Rovers FC
AIA Young Player of the Year Kodai Tanaka Albirex Niigata FC (S)
Ilhan Fandi Albirex Niigata FC (S)
Ryoya Taniguchi Balestier Khalsa FC
POLAR Mineral Water Coach of the Year Hasrin Jailani Tanjong Pagar United FC
Mohd Noor Ali Geylang International FC
Kazuaki Yoshinaga Albirex Niigata FC (S)
SELECT Goal of the Year André Moritz
(vs Geylang International FC, 11 March 2022)
Hougang United FC
Kyoga Nakamura
(vs Geylang International FC, 3 August 2022)
Tampines Rovers FC
Ilhan Fandi
(vs Balestier Khalsa FC, 16 July 2022)
Albirex Niigata FC (S)
SPL Top Scorer Boris Kopitović Tampines Rovers FC
SPL Golden Glove Zaiful Nizam Geylang International FC
SINGAPORE POOLS Fair Play Award Albirex Niigata FC (S) N.A.
AIA SPL Team of the Year To be announced at Awards Night
Deloitte Women’s Premier League
Deloitte Player of the Year Izzati Rosni Lion City Sailors FC
Haziqah Haszman Tanjong Pagar United FC
 Manami Fukuzawa Tanjong Pagar United FC
Young Player of the Year Haziqah Haszman Tanjong Pagar United FC
Dhaniyah Qasimah Hougang United FC
Dorcas Chu Lion City Sailors FC
Coach of the Year Yeong Sheau Shyan Lion City Sailors FC
Nahar Daud Albirex Niigata FC (S)
Samawira Basri Tanjong Pagar United FC
Goal of the Year Nur Emilia Natasha Albirex Niigata FC (S)
Izzati Rosni Lion City Sailors FC
Stephanie Dominguez Still Aerion FC
Top Scorer Izzati Rosni Lion City Sailors FC
Golden Glove Award Beatrice Tan Lion City Sailors FC
 Fair Play Award  Tiong Bahru FC N.A.
Referee Awards
SELECT Referee of the Year Ahmad A’Qashah N.A.
Jansen Foo N.A.
Andrea Verolino N.A.
SELECT Assistant Referee of the Year Andy Tan Mint Land N.A.
Lim Kok Heng N.A.
Ronnie Koh Min Kiat N.A.
Media Awards
Story of the Year Making A Name for Himself, Carrying on the Family Legacy – 19-year-old Ilhan Fandi a Revelation for Albirex Matthew Mohan (Channel NewsAsia)
My Cambodian Diary – Reflections On the AFF U-23 Championship  Jared Gallagher (SoccerKakis)
How Lion City Sailors are outspending other Singapore Premier League clubs David Lee, Deepanraj Ganesan, Anton Dzeviatau and Christopher Udemans (The Straits Times)
Photo of the Year An Unforgettable Victory Geylang International FC
Perfectly Balanced, As All Things Should Be Andrew Him (One Sports Photography)
The Real Opponent Chua Boon Ping (Junpiter Futbol)
Singapore Football League 1
Player of the Year Ryson Yap Katong FC
Fariz Faizal Singapore Khalsa Association
Zulkiffli Hassim Yishun Sentek Mariners FC
Coach of the Year Sukhvinder Singh Singapore Khalsa Association
Sivaraj Geevananthan Katong FC
Rosman Sulaiman Warwick Knights FC
Top Scorer Fariz Faizal Singapore Khalsa Association
Fair Play Award Singapore Khalsa Association N.A.
Singapore Football League 2
Player of the Year Ashrul Syafeeq Police SA
Sadik Said Jungfrau Punggol FC
Chang Guo Guang Singapore Cricket Club
Coach of the Year Nas Nasta’in Admirality CSN
Amos Boon Singapore Cricket Club
Ahmad Salihin Jungfrau Pungol FC
Top Scorer Chang Guo Guang Singapore Cricket Club
Fair Play Award Singapore Cricket Club N.A.
FAS Appreciation and Recognition Awards To be announced at Awards Night





Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram!