Domestic Competitions ● Nov 19, 2023

FAS Awards Night set to celebrate excellence in Singapore football in 2023


24 awards to be presented at the event held at Orchard Hotel



SINGAPORE, 19 NOVEMBER 2023 – The Football Association of Singapore (FAS) is set to illuminate the local football scene with the grandeur of the 7th edition of the FAS Awards Night, an annual celebration of excellence in the 2023 domestic football season. Scheduled for Thursday, 23 November at 6 pm, the prestigious event will take place at Orchard Hotel, bringing together the entire football community in Singapore.


The FAS Awards Night 2023 will spotlight outstanding performances from the 28th season of the Singapore Premier League (SPL) across seven categories. Recognition will also extend to the Deloitte Women’s Premier League (WPL) and the Singapore Football Leagues (SFL) 1 and 2.


Among the nominees for the coveted AIA SPL Player of the Year award are prolific Belgian forward Maxime Lestienne, who amassed an impressive 25 goals and 21 assists for the Lion City Sailors (LCS), alongside Ryoya Taniguchi from Balestier Khalsa and Seia Kunori from Albirex Niigata (S). The battle for the POLAR Mineral Water Coach of the Year accolade features Kazuaki Yoshinaga, a strong contender for his fourth consecutive title, Peter de Roo from Balestier Khalsa, and Gavin Lee from Tampines Rovers.


A distinguished judging panel, consisting of the 2023 monthly awards panel, head coaches, and captains from the nine SPL clubs, played a crucial role in the selection process for the nominees and eventual winners.


The Deloitte WPL categories include Player of the Year contenders Kitahara Kana (Albirex Niigata), Izzati Rosni (Lion City Sailors), and Nur Raudhah Kamis (Hougang United), while the Young Player of the Year features talents such as Dhaniyah Qasimah (Tanjong Pagar United), Nur Syazwani Ruzi (Lion City Sailors), and Nur Sarah Zu’risqha (Albirex Niigata).


In the SFL category, Player of the Year nominees Chang Guo Guang (Singapore Cricket Club), Fareez Farhan, and Luis Lim (Singapore Khalsa Association) vie for the SFL 1 award, while Sharul Shah (Kaki Bukit SC), Nabil Iman (Police SA), and Juma’at Jantan (South Avenue SC) contend for the SFL 2 award.


The 2023 FAS Special Recognition Awards will pay tribute to influential figures in Singapore football, including former National Team captains Shahril Ishak (Men’s) and Noor Kusumawati (Women’s).


List of main award nominees and recipients for FAS Awards Night 2023:


Singapore Premier League
Award Nominee Club/Organisation
AIA Player of the Year Maxime Lestienne Lion City Sailors FC
Seia Kunori Albirex Niigata FC (S)
Ryoya Taniguchi Balestier Khalsa FC
AIA Young Player of the Year Seia Kunori Albirex Niigata FC (S)
Hakeme Yazid Brunei DPMM FC
Abdul Rasaq Akeem Lion City Sailors FC
POLAR Mineral Water Coach of the Year Kazuaki Yoshinaga Albirex Niigata FC (S)
Peter de Roo Balestier Khalsa FC
Gavin Lee Tampines Rovers FC
SELECT Goal of the Year Khairul Amri (vs Hougang United, 6 April 2023) Tanjong Pagar United FC
SPL Top Scorer Maxime Lestienne Lion City Sailors FC
SPL Golden Glove Syazwan Buhari Tampines Rovers FC
SINGAPORE POOLS Fair Play Award Albirex Niigata FC (S) N.A.
AIA SPL Team of the Year To be announced at Awards Night
Deloitte Women’s Premier League
Deloitte Player of the Year Kitahara Kana Albirex Niigata (S) FC
Izzati Rosni Lion City Sailors FC
Nur Raudhah Kamis Hougang United FC
Young Player of the Year Nur Sarah Zu’risqha Albirex Niigata (S) FC
Dhaniyah Qasimah Tanjong Pagar United FC
Nur Syazwani Ruzi Lion City Sailors FC
Coach of the Year Yeong Sheau Shyan Lion City Sailors FC
Sivaraj Geevananthan Hougang United FC
Samawira Basri Tanjong Pagar United FC
Referee Awards
SELECT Referee of the Year Ahmad A’Qashah N.A.
Farhad Mohd N.A.
Andrea Verolino N.A.
SELECT Assistant Referee of the Year Andy Tan Mint Land N.A.
Md Ridha Said N.A.
Ronnie Koh Min Kiat N.A.
Media Awards
*Story of the Year World Cup Socceroo Bailey Wright far from done as he embarks on new voyage with Lion City Sailors Gabriel Tan (ESPN)
From hugging the touchline to prowling it with a flag, ex-winger Oswind Suriya gets his second wind  Deepanraj Ganesan (Straits Times)
Yes, we work like women – and it’s been wildly effective Kenneth Tan (Lion City Sailors FC)
Photo of the Year 93:50, Boyhood Dream Lau Lup Yun (Tampines Rovers FC)
Victory in Unity Leo Shengwei (Playmaker)
Beguiling mix of Belgian muscle and magic Ashok Kumar (Lion City Sailors FC)
Singapore Football League 1
Player of the Year Chang Guo Guang Singapore Cricket Club
Fareez Farhan Singapore Khalsa Association
Luis Lim Singapore Khalsa Association
Coach of the Year Sivaraj Geevananthan Katong FC
Steven Tan Singapore Cricket Club
Sukhvinder Singh Singapore Khalsa Association
Top Scorer Chang Guo Guang Singapore Cricket Club
Fair Play Award Katong FC N.A.
Singapore Football League 2
Player of the Year Sharul Shah Kaki Bukit SC
Nabil Iman Police SA
Juma’at Jantan South Avenue SC
Coach of the Year Salehin Amin Bishan Barx FC
Dalis Supait Kaki Bukit SC
Yahya Madon Police SA
Top Scorer Sharul Shah Kaki Bukit SC
Fair Play Award Singapore Xinhua FC N.A.
FAS Appreciation and Recognition Awards Shahril Ishak – National Team (Retired)

Noor Kusumawati Binte Mohammad Rosman – National Team (Retired)

Chia Eng Wah John – Referee Assessor

Muhammad Taqi Aljaafari Bin Jahari – Referee

Salikin Sarkawi – Match Commissioner (Retired)

Abdul Salim Ahmed Ibrahim – PBM Chairman of Appeals Committee

Jackson Yap – Chairman of Audit and Compliance Committee

Chin Kok Chua – Deputy Director FAS Finance

  • *Updated as of 21 November 2023




Follow us on FacebookX and Instagram