Press Releases ● Sep 04, 2013

FAS Names 22-Man Squad For Merdeka Tournament


SINGAPORE, 4 September 2013: The Football Association of Singapore (FAS) is pleased to announce the 22-man squad who will represent Singapore in the Merdeka Tournament, to be held from September 7 – 14 at the Darul Makmur Stadium in Kuantan, Pahang. The National Under-23 team from Singapore will face teams from Thailand, Myanmar and Malaysia in the 41st edition of the tournament. Most of the players who have been called up for this tournament had played in the recent international friendlies against the Under-23 teams of Philippines and Indonesia.


At the helm of the Under-23 squad is head coach V. Sundramoorthy who expresses his enthusiasm for the upcoming tournament. “The Merdeka Tournament has always been a tournament full of energy and exciting gameplay. I am pleased that the boys are given the opportunity to play in this tournament as it will provide excellent exposure for them ahead of the SEA Games. This is vital to the development of our youth players and the experience that the Under-23 players will gain from the Merdeka Tournament , as well as the international friendlies, will only further enhance their progress as players. Having said that, we are up against strong opponents in this tournament and the team is certain to give their best effort to ensure our progress in the tournament.”

The team will depart on Friday, 6 September at 11:30am from Changi Airport Terminal 2 on flight FY 3572.


List of players:


S/N Full Name Age   Position Club
1 Mohamad Izwan Bin Mahbud 23 Goalkeeper LionsXII
2 Muhammad Neezam Bin Abdul Aziz 22 Goalkeeper LionsXII
3 Muhammad Syazwan Bin Buhari 20 Goalkeeper Courts Young Lions
4 Muhammad Al-Qaasimy Bin Abdul Rahman 21 Defender Courts Young Lions
5 Sheikh Abdul Hadi Bin Sh Othman 21 Defender Courts Young Lions
6 Mohammad Afiq Bin Yunos 22 Defender Courts Young Lions
7 Faiz Bin Mohd Salleh 21 Defender Courts Young Lions
8 Muhammad Faris Azienuddin Bin Khaeri 19 Defender LionsXII
9 Muhammad Shakir Bin Hamzah 20 Defender LionsXII
10 Madhu M Mohana 22 Defender LionsXII
11 Muhammad Hafiz Bin Abu Sujad 22 Defender LionsXII
12 Muhammad Nazrul Bin Ahmad Nazari 22 Midfielder LionsXII
13 Quak Jun Yi (Gabriel) 22 Midfielder LionsXII
14 Muhammad Izzdin Shafiq Bin Yacob 22 Midfielder LionsXII
15 Muhammed Aqhari Bin Abdullah 22 Midfielder LionsXII
16 Muhammad Zulfahmi Bin Mohd Arifin 21 Midfielder LionsXII
17 Muhammad Shamil Bin Sharif 21 Midfielder Courts Young Lions
18 Muhammad Raihan Bin Abdul Rahman 22 Midfielder Courts Young Lions
19 Muhammad Fazli Bin Ayob 23 Forward LionsXII
20 Muhammad Faris Bin Ramli 21 Forward LionsXII
21 Muhammad Khairul Nizam Bin Mohammad Kamal 22 Forward LionsXII
22 Muhammad Syafiq Bin Mohamed Zainal 22 Forward Lions XII





































4 September 2013