FAS ● Oct 13, 2018

FAS Nite 2018 recognises season’s best


SINGAPORE, 13 OCTOBER 2018 – The Football Association of Singapore (FAS) marked the end of the domestic professional football season with the FAS Nite 2018 this evening.


Themed #ONESTRONG this year, the event recognised the achievements and contributions of all involved in Singapore football.


Awards were given to outstanding individuals and clubs from the Singapore Premier League (SPL), National Football League (NFL), Women’s Premier and National Leagues as well as the Centre of Excellence (COE) Leagues.


FAS President Mr Lim Kia Tong said: “The FAS Nite is the platform for us to bring together the Singapore football fraternity under one roof and as #ONESTRONG, which is the theme for this year’S FAS Nite. Since last year, we have been using this platform to recognise the achievements and contributions of all involved in Singapore football. My congratulations to all the award recipients.”


Themed #ONESTRONG to galvanise all Singaporeans to come forward in support of Singapore football, the FAS Nite 2018 is aligned with the campaign for the National Team’s journey in the 2018 ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) Suzuki Cup. The theme also reflects FAS’ intention of building an inclusive football community in Singapore.


During the dinner, guests were treated to a night of entertainment with guest musical performances from Asia’s Got Talent finalist Fathin Amira and Singapore Idol finalist Mathilda D’Silva, as well as video highlights of the 2018 domestic football season.


With close to 400 attendees this year, familiar faces in the crowd included current players and coaches, former national players, match officials, football fans, administrators and sponsors.


Awards at the 2018 FAS Nite

A new addition to the line-up of awards given out in the Singapore Premier League is the SPL Fans’ Best XI. For the first time, fans were able to vote for their team of the year via an online voting system.


Albirex Niigata FC  (S) midfielder Adam Swandi was named in the SPL Fans’ Best XI and also picked up the Hyundai Young Player of the Year accolade. He shared: “I feel very happy to be able to receive the award. It’s really been an honour to have been even nominated for the award. I would like to thank my loved ones for the continuous support they have given me these past years, and the support from Albirex Niigata Singapore. I’ve really learnt a lot from them this season. This award is only a motivation for me to work harder to achieve greater heights.”


Coach of the Year Kazuaki Yoshinaga (ANFC), Player of the Year Wataru Murofushi (ANFC), Goal of the Year Zulfadhmi Suzliman (TRFC), Young Player of the Year Adam Swandi (ANFC)


Long-time Singapore football fans Akbar Hashim, Sunny Lee and Walter Koh, Tanjong Pagar United FC’s outgoing chairman Edward Liu and former Singapore international Fahrudin Mustafic were given FAS awards for their contributions to Singapore football.


SPL clubs Warriors FC and Home United FC were similarly acknowledged for their contributions to women’s football and outstanding run in the 2018 Asian Football Confederation Cup respectively.


The Singapore fan groups, Brigata Lion City and Singamania, were also recognised at tonight’s event for their staunch support for Singapore football.


The FAS congratulates all winners in the FAS Nite 2018. Click here for the list of winners.