Youth Development ● Dec 14, 2018

FAS U-14 league concludes successful inaugural season


SINGAPORE, 14 DECEMBER 2018 – The inaugural season of the Football Association of Singapore (FAS) Under-14 Developmental League drew to a close on Friday evening with an appreciation ceremony.


A representative from each of the 16 participating teams received a certificate of appreciation at the ceremony, which was held at the FAS Technical Block.


In his welcome address, Mr S. Varatha Rajan, General Manager, Youth Development/Junior COE expressed his gratitude to all the teams for making the season a successful one.


“This would not have been possible if all of you had not come forward to help each other out,” he said. “That was very pleasing to see. The boys had a wonderful time… in this one-year programme, which is unheard of (previously) for their age group.”


The league also brought together teams from the private academies to face off against sides from Singapore Premier League teams as well as long-standing local clubs.


This was noted by Mr Gerard Christopher, Deputy Director (General Secretary’s Office), in his keynote address.


“It was a good collaboration of thoughts and different entities that came together,” he said. “It was a good start, a good opportunity (for the players) and ultimately it was a good end result. On behalf of FAS General Secretary Yazeen Buhari and the FAS management, I want to thank you all for your participation.”

A video montage of the teams in action during the season was played before the addresses, before Mr Gerard presented the representatives with their certificates.


The U-14 league saw two rounds of matches being played – the first round comprised two groups of eight teams, with the top four and bottom four from each group then being grouped with each other for a second round. U-14 Centre (Yishun) and Combine Schools FC emerged as winners of Group A and B respectively.


The other teams involved were: LFA Protectors U-14, F17 Academy, Home United FC U-14, Star Soccer Academy, Balestier Khalsa U-14, Woodlands County FC, Geylang Serai FC, Warriors FC U-14, Geylang International FC/Boon Keng SRC, Admiralty CSC, School Football Academy East, Bukit Timah Juniors, SMFC and West J United.