National Team - Lionesses ● Apr 26, 2019

Lionesses to participate in Arafura Games


SINGAPORE, 26 APRIL 2019 – The Singapore Women’s National Team will be heading to Darwin, Australia for the Arafura Games 2019, which returns after an eight-year hiatus.

Organised by the Northern Territory Government, the Arafura Games is an international multi-sport Games held biennially from 1991 to 2011.

The 2019 edition will take place from 26 April to 4 May and will feature a total of 17 sports. The football tournament will be contested by both men and women in an open 11-a-side format with unlimited substitutions. Each match will be played for 70 minutes with a 10-minute break.

Leading the team for her first official assignment, Head Coach Melisa Ye said: “It has not been long since I took over the team and the girls are still getting used to my playing style and philosophy. This tournament will be beneficial in helping the girls to strengthen their teamwork, especially in our run-up of preparations for selection to the 2019 Southeast Asian Games.

“I hope that the girls will remember my philosophy: Respect all, Fear none. We may face tough opponents who are physically stronger and quicker but we have to learn to stand up against them.”

The team will depart for Darwin on Saturday, 27 April.

Fixtures for the Arafura Games 2019

Date Time Match Venue
29 April 2019
6.30pm Singapore vs Timorese Fugees Darwin Football Stadium
30 April 2019 Tuesday 5.00pm NT Yapas vs Singapore Darwin Football Stadium
1 May 2019 Wednesday 5.00pm Darwin Invitational vs Singapore Darwin Football Stadium
2 May 2019
3.30pm Singapore vs Koalas Darwin Football Stadium
3 May 2019
7.30am/ 3.45pm Semi-finals / Finals Darwin Football Stadium

Singapore Women’s National Team

S/N Name Pos DOB Club
1 Azura Azlan GK 12-May-03 Warriors FC
2 Hazel Lim GK 3-Mar-02 Tiong Bahru FC
3 Farhanah Ruhaizat DF 26-Jul-98 Tanjong Pagar United FC
4 Syazwani Ruzi DF 20-Dec-01 Still Aerion FC
5 Umairah Hamdan DF 11-Mar-02 Tampines Changkat CSC
6 Angelyn Pang DF 13-Apr-91 Tiong Bahru FC
7 Nor Aqilah Shazali DF 17-Oct-01 Tampines Changkat CSC
8 Rosnani Azman DF 22-May-97 Home United FC
9 Angeline Chua MF 7-Nov-88 Still Aerion FC
10 Dorcas Chu MF 29-Jul-02 Warriors FC
11 Ernie Sulastri MF 24-Nov-88 Home United FC
12 Faradila Rafidi MF 15-Oct-98 Still Aerion FC
13 Izzati Rosni MF 24-May-99 Still Aerion FC
14 Wan Nabilah Razali MF 15-May-93 Tiong Bahru FC
15 Raudhah Kamis FW 4-Mar-99 Tiong Bahru FC
16 Stephanie Dominguez FW 27-Sep-98 Still Aerion FC