FAS ● Aug 17, 2018

Marko Kraljevic to lead Singapore Selection squad in the 2018 Sultan of Selangor’s Cup


SINGAPORE, 17 AUGUST 2018: Marko Kraljevic, who is the head coach of Balestier Khalsa FC, has been appointed to lead the Singapore Selection squad in the 17th edition of the Sultan of Selangor’s Cup. Several changes have also been made to the Singapore Selection squad following Home United FC’s qualification for the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Cup Inter-Zone semi-finals.


The Singapore Selection squad travelling up to Shah Alam Stadium, Selangor, Malaysia sees 10 new players called up from Tampines Rovers FC, Balestier Khalsa FC, Warriors FC, Hougang United FC and Albirex Niigata FC (S).


Coach Marko Kraljevic said: “Congratulations to Home United for their unprecedented victory in the AFC Cup. I believe they will continue to do Singapore football proud in the competition. At the same time, the Sultan of Selangor’s Cup is a meaningful one with rich history grounding it. Having been in Singapore for over 20 years, I have seen and grasped the rivalry that exists between the two teams and I am delighted to have the opportunity to lead the Singapore Selection team for the first time. Shah Alam Stadium will not be an easy away ground to play in but we will be giving our all to show the fans a good game on 25 August.”


Held on 25 August 2018 this year, the event will once again feature the traditional curtain-raiser match between the Veterans, followed by the main match between the Singapore and Selangor Selection teams. The Singapore-Selangor Schools Challenge Cup, which was introduced last year, will be competed at the Shah Alam Stadium for the first time by Under-16 boys from both sides.


The schedule of matches are as follows:

Time Match Venue
5.30pm Singapore-Selangor Schools Challenge Cup Shah Alam Stadium

Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia

8.00pm Selangor Veterans vs Singapore Veterans
9.00pm Selangor Selection vs Singapore Selection


Singapore Selection team

No. Name D.O.B Pos Club
1 Zaiful Nizam 24 Jul 1987 GK Balestier Khalsa FC
2 Syazwan Buhari* 22 Sep 1992 GK Tampines Rovers FC
3 Fadli Kamis* 07 Nov 1992 DF Balestier Khalsa FC
4 Ho Wai Loon 20 Aug 1993 DF Warriors FC
5 Irfan Najeeb 31 Jul 1999 DF Tampines Rovers FC
6 Kento Fukuda 15 May 1990 DF Warriors FC
7 Emmeric Ong* 25 Jan 1991 DF Warriors FC
8 Shaqi Sulaiman* 11 Oct 1998 DF Balestier Khalsa FC
9 Adam Swandi 12 Jan 1996 MF Albirex Niigata FC (S)
10 Hafiz Sujad* 01 Nov 1990 MF Tampines Rovers FC
11 Hafiz Sulaiman* 10 Oct 1995 MF Warriors FC
12 Hami Syahin 16 Dec 1998 MF Young Lions
13 Hazzuwan Halim* 02 Feb 1994 MF Balestier Khalsa FC
14 Huzaifah Aziz 27 Jun 1994 MF Balestier Khalsa FC
15 Ryutaro Megumi* 29 Jun 1993 MF Tampines Rovers FC
16 Wataru Murofushi* 13 Jun 1995 MF Albirex Niigata FC (S)
17 Yasir Hanapi 21 Jun 1989 MF Tampines Rovers FC
18 Zulfadhmi Suzliman* 10 Feb 1996 MF Tampines Rovers FC
19 Zulqarnaen Suzliman 29 Mar 1998 MF Young Lions
20 Iqbal Hussain* 06 Jun 1993 FW Hougang United FC
21 Shuhei Hoshino 19 Dec 1995 FW Albirex Niigata FC (S)

*New players called up to the Singapore Selection squad


Singapore Veterans team

S/N Name Age Pos
1 Rezal Hassan 43 GK
2 Shahri Rahim 54 GK
3 Aide Iskandar 43 DF
4 E. Manimohan 50 DF
5 Idham Riduan 58 DF
6 Ishak Saad 57 DF
7 Razali Saad 54 DF
8 Zulkarnaen Zainal 45 DF
9 Fahmie Abdullah 44 MF
10 Kamalruzaman Zainal 55 MF
11 Malek Awab 57 MF
12 Nazri Nasir 47 MF
13 Rafi Ali 46 MF
14 Samawira Basri 46 MF
15 Syed Faruk 51 MF
16 Yahya Mandon 55 MF
17 Dalis Supait 47 FW
18 Fandi Ahmad 56 FW
19 Nahar Daud 49 FW
20 Steven Tan 48 FW
21 Tay Peng Kee 57 FW


Singapore Under-16 Selection Team

No. Name D.O.B Pos School
1 Danial Iliya 06 Feb 2003 GK Singapore Sports School
2 Umayr Sujuandy 18 Feb 2003 GK Hong Kah Secondary School
3 Farhan Zulkifli 10 Nov 2002 DF Queensway Secondary School
4 Fathullah Rahmat 05 Sep 2002 DF Singapore Sports School
5 Naufal Ilham 17 Aug 2002 DF Singapore Sports School
6 Nicky Melvin Singh 13 Jun 2002 DF Sengkang Secondary School
7 Ryaan Sanizal 31 May 2002 DF Singapore Sports School
8 Afiq Iqbal 14 Apr 2003 MF Saint Patrick’s School
9 Aidil Johari 05 Apr 2003 MF Yishun Town Secondary School
10 Aniq Raushan 05 Oct 2003 MF Singapore Sports School
11 Danish Qayyum 02 Feb 2002 MF Meridian Secondary School
12 Danish Siregar 01 Mar 2003 MF Anglo Chinese School (Independent)
13 Iman Hakim 09 Mar 2002 MF Singapore Sports School
14 K Dashan 08 Sep 2002 MF Singapore Sports School
15 Niq Harraz 02 Jun 2002 MF Singapore Sports School
16 Aqil Dany 20 Jun 2003 FW Singapore Sports School
17 Irfan Roslan 24 Apr 2002 FW Singapore Sports School
18 Zakaria Syari 31 Jul 2003 FW Meridian Secondary School