Women's ● Nov 14, 2022

Police SA crowned 2022 FAS Women’s National League champions



Police SA celebrate winning the WNL title, 13 November 2022 (Credit: FAS / Steven Tan)


SINGAPORE, 14 NOVEMBER 2022 – A dominant display by Police SA saw them romp to their maiden Football Association of Singapore (FAS) Women’s National League title on Sunday evening at the Jalan Besar Stadium.


Hisham Roslan’s charges overcame JSSL FC 4-0 in the final to make it five wins from as many matches in this season’s competition, which meant that they lifted the trophy at the final whistle and received S$8000.00 in prize money.


Cheryl Chan broke the deadlock in the 23rd minute and Police never looked back from there. Singapore Under-18 international Nurzaherra Maisarah bagged her eighth of the season on 43 minutes before Kyra Taylor added a third on 48 minutes. Former Lionesses captain Nur Izyani rounded off the triumph with a 53rd-minute strike on a memorable night.


Police became the fourth winner in as many editions of the WNL (after Changi Village SRC (2017), Tampines Changkat CSC (2018) and Tanjong Pagar United (2019)), which returned in September after a two-year pandemic-enforced absence, and Sitianiwati Rosielin’s nine-goal tally meant that she finished as the top scorer. JSSL, who reached the final in their debut campaign, received S$5000.00 in prize money. Royal Arion Women’s FC defeated Bussorah Youths SC 1-0 a day earlier thanks to Jessica Rossette’s 58th-minute goal to clinch third place and earn S$3,500.00 in prize money.


Sitianiwati Rosielin on the ball; the Police SA number 8 finished with a league-best nine goals, 13 November 2022 (Credit: FAS / Steven Tan)


The final brought the curtain down on the 2022 season, which kicked off in September. Eleven clubs were split into three groups, where the top three teams and the best second-placed team qualified for the semi-finals. Nine clubs, including Police – who were relegated from the 2019 Women’s Premier League (WPL) – and JSSL, made their competition debuts.


The three previous champions are Changi Village SRC (2017), Tampines Changkat CSC (2018) and Tanjong Pagar United (2019); however, there will be no promotion to the top tier (WPL) for the next three seasons, including this one.


The FAS congratulates Police for their victorious campaign and commends all the teams for their valiant displays!




Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram!