National Teams – Age-group ● Dec 01, 2019

Singapore fall to defending champions Thailand in SEA Games


Photo from FA Thailand
Singapore went down to a 3-0 defeat against Thailand at the Binan Football Stadium this evening.


Goals from Jaroensak Wonggorn (7th minute), Suphanat Mueanta (19th minute) and Peerawat Akkatam (36th minute) in the first half were enough to seal three points for Thailand, who dominated proceedings from the start.


Lionel Tan forced Thai goalkeeper Nont Muangngam into a good save with a free-kick after the break but Fandi Ahmad’s charges failed to find the back of the net despite an improved second-half display.


Speaking after the game, Fandi acknowledged that Thailand were the superior side but emphasised the need to pick themselves up again, saying, “It was a very tough game for us, but I thought we came back strongly and had our chances, although they (Thailand) were the better team. They have many players who could win the game and we tried very hard to push them and even brought on Ikhsan (Fandi) with his swollen ankle.


“Thailand is a good and strong team, but we could have scored two goals from a free kick and a header. This is football, so we cannot give up as we still have two games to play and these boys are fighters. For me, it is important that they keep on believing (in themselves) and we will try to improve our game.


“I’m very proud of our boys, they gave their all today. Good luck and congratulations to Thailand. We’ll have to regroup again because we have two more matches to go, so hopefully we can score goals and get three points against Vietnam and Brunei.”


The Young Lions next face Vietnam at the Rizal Memorial Stadium on 3 December at 8pm for the penultimate game of the group.


Singapore: Zharfan Rohaizad (GK), Irfan Fandi (C), Lionel Tan, Irfan Najeeb, Zulqarnaen Suzliman, Hami Syahin, Jacob Mahler, Ryhan Stewart (Jordan Vestering 80′), Syahrul Sazali, Faris Ramli (Shah Shahiran 66′), Naqiuddin Eunos (Ikhsan Fandi 30′).
Unused subs: Kenji Rusydi (GK), Joshua Pereira, Haiqal Pashia, Saifullah Akbar, Nur Luqman Rahman, Tajeli Salamat.