FAS ● Aug 16, 2019

Singapore Selection seeks to equal win record under Nazri’s lead


SINGAPORE, 16 AUGUST 2019 – Nazri Nasir has been handed the reins of the Singapore Selection team for the first time as they seek triumph in The Sultan of Selangor’s Cup 2019.

The former National Team captain has called up a squad with a good blend of youth and experience with players coming from seven Singapore Premier League clubs, including three foreigners – Albirex Niigata (S) pair Kaishu Yamazaki and midfielder Kyoga Nakamura, and Warriors FC’s Jonathan Behe.

Having been edged on penalties by the Selangor Selection in the previous edition, the Singapore Selection will be looking to claim their ninth win to draw level with Selangor in the all-time trophy count.

The Singapore Veterans and Under-15 Selection squads have also been finalised.

With the likes of Yazid Yasin, Noor Ali, Indra Sahdan Daud and Ahmad Sayuti participating for the first time, the Veterans hope to add strength to their team as they prepare to face their Selangor counterparts. The star-studded team will also see footballing legends Malek Awab, Fandi Ahmad and Nazri take to the field again under coach Samad Allapitchay and ex-internationals team manager Richard Wong.

The youngest of the three travelling squads – the Singapore Under-15 Selection team – will be headed by Philippe Aw and is largely made up of players who recently returned from the ASEAN Football Federation Under-15 Championship in Chonburi, Thailand. The match will also be part of the team’s preparations for the Asian Football Confederation Under-16 Championship qualifiers in September.

The 18th edition of the competition will take place on 24 August 2019 at the Shah Alam Stadium in Selangor, Malaysia.

Singapore Selection team

S/N Name Pos Club
1 Syazwan Buhari GK Tampines Rovers
2 Zharfan Rohaizad* GK Young Lions
3 Amirul Adli* DF Tampines Rovers
4 Faizal Roslan DF Home United
5 Irwan Shah* DF Tampines Rovers
6 Kaishu Yamazaki* DF Albirex Niigata (S)
7 Nazrul Nazari DF Hougang United
8 Syahrul Sazali* DF Young Lions
9 Zulqarnaen Suzliman DF Young Lions
10 Christopher Van Huizen MF Geylang International
11 Hami Syahin MF Home United
12 Jacob Mahler* MF Young Lions
13 Kyoga Nakamura* MF Albirex Niigata (S)
14 Gabriel Quak MF Warriors FC
15 Shahdan Sulaiman MF Tampines Rovers
16 Zulfahmi Arifin MF Hougang United
17 Faris Ramli FW Hougang United
18 Hafiz Nor FW Home United
19 Jonathan Behe* FW Warriors FC
20 Shawal Anuar* FW Geylang International

*Participating in The Sultan of Selangor’s Cup for the first time

Singapore Veterans team

S/N Name Pos Age
1 Shahri Rahim GK 55
2 Yazid Yasin GK 40
3 Idham Ridhuan DF 59
4 Ishak Saad DF 58
5 E Manimohan DF 51
6 Razali Saad DF 55
7 Samad Allapitchay DF 69
8 Zulkarnaen Zainal DF 46
9 Azhar Baksin MF 43
10 Fahmie Abdullah MF 45
11 Gusta Guzarisha MF 43
12 Ho Kwang Hock MF 64
13 Kamalruzaman Zainal MF 56
14 Malek Awab MF 58
15 Nazri Nasir MF 48
16 Noor Ali MF 44
17 Samawira Basri MF 47
18 Syed Faruk MF 52
19 Ahmad Sayuti Bin Ali FW 63
20 Dalis Supait FW 48
21 Fandi Ahmad FW 57
22 Indra Sahdan Daud FW 40
23 Nahar Daud FW 50
24 Steven Tan FW 49


Singapore Under-15 Selection team

S/N Name Pos Club/School
1 Aizil Yazid GK Greenridge Secondary School
2 Veer Karan Sobti GK United World College
3 Adam Norkhalis DF Home United
4 Adam Reefdy DF Singapore Sports School
5 Aqil Yazid DF Singapore Sports School
6 Farid Jafri DF Active SG
7 Junki Kenn Yoshimura DF Singapore Sports School
8 Raoul Suhaimi DF Singapore Sports School
9 Kieran Teo DF Home United
10 Ahmad Dzulfaqar MF Albirex Niigata (S)
11 Arsyad Basiron MF Jurongville Secondary School
12 Danie Hafiy MF Active SG
13 Dylan Choo MF Active SG
14 Ethan Henry Pinto MF Singapore Sports School
15 Kenji Austin MF Active SG
16 Asis Junaidi MF Meridian Secondary School
17 Sufian Saberin MF Serangoon Gardens Secondary School
18 Ali Manaf FW Meridian Secondary School
19 Amir Syafiz Rashid FW Singapore Sports School
20 Irfan Iskandar FW Singapore Sports School
21 Khairin Nadim Rahim FW Singapore Sports School
22 Izrafil Yusof FW Jurongville Secondary School