FAS ● Sep 20, 2018

Singapore Selection team to take part in The Sultan’s Gold Cup 2018


SINGAPORE, 18 SEPTEMBER 2018: – The Football Association of Singapore (FAS) announced today that it will be sending a Singapore Selection Team, comprising mainly players from the National Football League (NFL), to participate in The Sultan’s Gold Cup 2018 organised by the Persatuan Bolasepak Melayu Malaysia (Malay Football Association of Malaysia).


As part of the FAS’ continued objectives to develop NFL players by giving them opportunities beyond the domestic league, NFL players from both Division One and Two were invited to attend selection trials to form the team. NFL officials are also part of the backroom staff, so that they will be able to further develop their management capabilities.


The team will be led by Head Coach Nazri Nasir, who will have former Singapore international Noh Rahman as Assistant Coach and Fitness Coach. They will be assisted by Team Manager Harman Ali from NFL Division Two side GFA Victoria. The final Singapore Selection squad for the 78th edition of the tournament comprises players from six NFL clubs as well as six Under-21 players.


This year, The Sultan’s Gold Cup will be held at Lembah Klang, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from 25 September to 20 October and comprises four groups. Singapore has been drawn in Group D alongside Persatuan Bolasepak Melayu Selangor, Angkatan Tentera Malaysia (ATM) and Penjara FC.


FAS President, Mr Lim Kia Tong, said: “We would like to thank Persatuan Bolasepak Melayu Malaysia for the invitation to take part in this year’s The Sultan’s Gold Cup, a long-running tournament with much prestige and history. Fielding a team of mostly NFL players is also in line with FAS’ initiatives to provide opportunities for our NFL players to compete at a higher level beyond the NFL League in reputable competitions. I wish Nazri and his team all the best and I am sure they will do us proud.”


Mr Zaki Ma’arof, Chairman of the Singapore Selection Team that will be participating in the Sultan Gold Cup 2018, concurred and noted that the team can call upon some of the best NFL players, such as current Division 1 top scorer Zulkiffli Hassim.


“The selection of this team shows that we are taking this competition very seriously,” he said. “Most are experienced campaigners in the local football scene, while the addition of the Young Lions players will provide a good blend of youth and inject energy.


“The Sultan’s Gold Cup is very keenly contested at a good level of football and provides a platform for the NFL players to shine. It also provides our amateur players the opportunity to be scouted, especially so with FAS coach Nazri leading the team for this edition.


“Nazri himself is a former Singapore captain and has also played in this tournament previously, when the team reached the semi-finals in 2009, so he is well placed to guide this current side. I would like to also commend and thank the FAS in coming forward in full support and giving such opportunities for amateur players.”


Established in 1922, The Sultan’s Gold Cup is an annual amateur football competition that sees participation from Malaysian state representative teams and an invitational team from Singapore.


Singapore have won the competition 12 times, with their last triumph coming in 1983, and last progressed from the group stages in 2013 when they reached the quarter-finals. The group stage matches take place from 25 to 30 September, with the knock-out stages to be played from 6 October onwards.


The Sultan’s Gold Cup 2018 Schedule

Date Match
25 September 2018 Penjara FC vs Singapore Selection
26 September 2018 ATM vs Singapore Selection
28 September 2018 Selangor vs Singapore Selection
6 October 2018 Quarter-finals
13 October 2018 Semi-finals
20 October 2018 Final


Please find below the squad list for your reference.

Singapore Selection Team

S/N Name Pos Club
1 Fairol Abdullah GK GFA Victoria FC
2 Siddiq Durimi GK GFA Victoria FC
3 Prakash Raj DF Young Lions
4 Akhbar Ali Shah DF Warwick Knights FC
5 Nur Asyidiq Sukarto DF Yishun Sentek
6 Samuel Benjamin s/o Nadarajah DF GFA Sporting Westlake
7 Nazhiim Harman DF Young Lions
8 Syed Amirul Haziq DF Yishun Sentek
9 Irfan Asyraf Aziz DF Young Lions
10 Hafiz Osman MF Warwick Knights FC
11 Nur Ridho Jafri MF Yishun Sentek
12 Zulkiffli Hassim MF Yishun Sentek
13 Nur Na’iim Ishak MF Yishun Sentek
14 Fazli Jaffar MF Yishun Sentek
15 Nashrul Amin Sanusi MF Bukit Timah Juniors
16 Rusyaidi Salime MF Young Lions
17 Amirul Hakim MF Young Lions
18 Asshukrie Wahid MF Young Lions
19 Syed Firdaus Hassan MF Young Lions
20 Nor Azli Yusoff MF Unattached
21 Yusiskandar Yusop MF GFA Victoria FC
22 Ifwat Ismail FW Young Lions
23 Amirul Walid FW Jungfrau Punggol FC
24 Nur Hidayat Juhari FW GFA Sporting Westlake
25 Sharul Nizam Anwar FW Young Lions
26 Danial Syafiq FW Young Lions