Domestic Competitions ● Aug 17, 2019

Tiong Bahru win NFL Div 1 crown, Commonwealth Cosmos clinch IWL title


SINGAPORE, 17 AUGUST 2019 – Tiong Bahru FC and Commonwealth Cosmos FC were crowned 2019 Football Association of Singapore (FAS) National Football League (NFL) Division One champions and Island Wide League (IWL) champions respectively on Saturday.

Tiong Bahru were virtually assured of the title going into their final game against Yishun Sentek Mariners at Jalan Besar Stadium – barring a defeat by at least four goals – and early strikes from Goh Swee Swee and Ang Zhiwei put them in command.Despite Farouq Farkhan pulling one back for Mariners and Nazirul Islam netting late on, a brace from Syukri Noorhaizam and a goal each from Nurhisham Suhaimi and Hazim Faiz sealed a 6-2 victory and Tiong Bahru’s second consecutive title. GFA Sporting Westlake finished second in the NFL Division One, with Singapore Armed Forces SA taking third spot.The IWL final took place later in the evening at the same venue and a Shaiful Esah free-kick special saw Commonwealth Cosmos FC, who finished third last year, beat Geylang Serai FC 1-0 to clinch their first title in the competition.  In the third-fourth playoff, Bedok South Avenue SC triumphed 5-0 over Gymkhana FC.FAS Deputy President, Mr Bernard Tan, was present to give out the prizes to Tiong Bahru while FAS Vice President, Mr Teo Hock Seng, did likewise for the top three IWL teams.

Congratulations to the champions and well done to all participating teams!