Press Releases ● Oct 26, 2016

White Swans Crowned 2016 Great Eastern-Yeo’s S.league Champions





SINGAPORE, 26 OCTOBER 2016: Albirex Niigata FC (S) were tonight officially crowned 2016 Great Eastern-Yeo’s S.League champions at Jalan Besar Stadium, after the final match of the league season – coincidentally against league runners-up and their RHB Singapore Cup Final opponents Tampines Rovers FC. The match ended 5-1 in favour of the Stags.


After the final whistle, FAS President Zainudin Nordin presented Albirex Niigata FC (S) with the S.League trophy and winners’ medals, along with the cash prize of $250,000. First runners-up Tampines were also presented with their medals and their cash prize of $125,000.



Both teams were not the only prize recipients, as the top three teams of the Prime League tournament also received their medals at half-time. Home United FC went home with the Champions’ Trophy, while Warriors FC finished as the first runner-up and the National Football Academy Under-18 Team came in third.


Over at Toa Payoh Stadium, S.League CEO Lim Chin presented Brunei DPMM FC with their medals and cash prize for claiming the second runner-up spot in the 2016 Great Eastern-Yeo’s S.League, after their match against hosts Balestier Khalsa FC which ended 2-0 to Balestier.




2016 Great Eastern-Yeo’s S.League


Champions: Albirex Niigata (S) FC


1st Runner-up: Tampines Rovers FC


2nd Runner-up: Brunei DPMM FC




2016 Great Eastern-Yeo’s Prime League


Champions: Home United FC


1st Runner-up: Warriors FC


2nd Runner-up: National Football Academy Under-18 Team